Our Board

Gary Friedmann, President (Bar Harbor)

For the last 20 years, Gary has been helping Maine nonprofit organizations achieve their goals through his statewide consulting firm, Gary Friedmann & Associates.  He has been involved in numerous political campaigns and civic organizations, and currently serves on the Bar Harbor Town Council.  As a volunteer for Public Citizen, he organized residents in Bar Harbor, Mount Desert, and Southwest Harbor to pass resolutions calling for a constitutional amendment to get big money out of politics.

Ed Youngblood, Vice President (Brewer)

Ed was in the inaugural class of Clean Election candidates in 2000. He served in the State Senate from 2000-2004 and then again from 2012-2014 and in the interim served two terms on the state’s Ethics Commission. He is retired from Bangor Savings Bank where he was Senior Vice President.

Wells Lyons, Secretary (Portland)

Wells Lyons is a community activist and attorney who has worked on numerous political campaigns. He is a graduate of Middlebury College and Loyola University Chicago School of Law. Wells believes that publicly financed elections are a requirement of every healthy and inclusive democracy.

Ann Luther, Treasurer (Trenton)

Ann is currently the treasurer of the League of Women Voters of Maine. She became a League member in 1998, joined the state board representing League members Downeast in 2001, and was elected president from 2003 to 2007 and co-president from 2007 to 2009. Ann retired in 1998 from a career in the private sector.

Phil Bailey (Hancock)

Phil has worked on political campaigns, fostered environmental change, fundraised for various causes, founded the first large "buy recycled" organization, and led a statewide effort to pass health insurance reform. He believes money in politics is a root cause of gridlock and stagnation on the national level and is proud of what Maine has achieved and of the non-partisan nature of Clean Elections. Phil also serves on the Board of Directors for Maine Initiatives.

Kris Clark (Portland)

As a community activist, events coordinator, music promoter, and field organizer, Kris has worked on the issues of affordable health care, civil liberties, bicyclist /pedestrian advocacy, and the environment. He has volunteered for MCCE for 5 years believing that publicly financed clean elections is essential for a true democracy.

Chris Hafford (Portland)

Chris lives in Portland where he currently works for the SunriseGuide. A dedicated volunteer, Chris has worked on many different political campaigns and initiatives throughout the years. Some of his activities include knocking on doors, calling undecided voters, and organizing petition and voter registration drives and other work for ballot initiatives. He believes that in today's politics, the single most effective use of his time as a volunteer is in working towards the passage of stronger Clean Election laws in Maine, and that the fight to keep money out of politics is a bedrock issue of our entire political system.

Emma Halas-O'Connor (Portland)

Emma has spent the past four years as an advocate and organizer with the Environmental Health Strategy Center, where she currently leads public health campaigns to protect Maine people from exposure to toxic chemicals. Emma also volunteered for several years with the Maine League of Young Voters to produce a voter guide, designed to make information on candidates and ballot issues more accessible to Portland voters. She is a graduate of Bates College.

Jolene Lovejoy (Rumford)

Jolene’s passion and concern for the people of Maine emerged with her work on the local school board in 1988.  Later in 1995 she was elected as Selectman for the town of Rumford.  Jolene also served on the Board of the Rumford Area Rotary and Tri-County Mental Health Services.  After serving on the Executive Committee of the Maine Municipal Association, she was elected President in 2003.  Jolene also ran for State Representative in 2001 using the Maine’s first in nation Clean Election system.  Although Jolene did not win the election, she has worked tirelessly to promote Maine’s Clean Election system ever since. Jolene collected signatures for the 2015 initiative, has written Op-ed articles, and traveled across the county to engage political leaders on campaign finance reform. 

James Kilbreth (Portland)

James Kilbreth of Drummond Woodsum Attorneys at Law focuses his practice on complex commercial and regulatory litigation, including antitrust, securities, officer and director liability, class actions, bid award challenges, insurance coverage disputes, environmental and energy matters, and higher education issues. Jamie was the lead lawyer for the State of Maine in its litigation against the tobacco industry, securing a $1.5 billion recovery, the largest in State history. In addition to his Martindale-Hubbell AV rating, Jamie has been recognized by a number of independent attorney rating publications: Best Lawyers in America in the categories of Commercial Litigation, Environmental Law and Natural Resources Law; Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business under Environment and Litigation: General Commercial; New England Super Lawyers in the category of Business Litigation, where he was named among “The Top 100” attorneys (2008); and as a 2013 Litigation Star by Benchmark Litigation.

Mason Morfit (South Freeport)

Mason served 33 years with The Nature Conservancy in various leadership positions, including Executive Director of the Maine Chapter.  In that capacity, he was instrumental in passing Maine’s first land acquisition bond issue in 1987 and creating the Land For Maine’s Future program, which has so far protected more than 500,000 acres of natural Maine land.  He serves or has served on the boards of the College of the Atlantic, the Appalachian Mountain Club, Audubon Alaska, the Coastal Conservation Association / Maine, the Freeport Conservation Trust and the Maine Planned Giving Council.

Alison Smith (Portland)

Alison got involved in Clean Elections through the League of Women Voters. She was one of 1,100 Mainers who volunteered to collect signatures in 1995 to put Clean Elections on the ballot. Ever since then, she has worked on Clean Elections in either a volunteer or professional capacity.